top of page

JURY 2020

Hubert Sauper, Wojciech Staron, Sofia Kapkova, Estephan Wagner, Elsa Kremser and Anastasiya Miroshnichenko will make up the International feature & Short film Juries 2020. They will decide which films will receive the Main Doker Award, awards for best directing, cinematography, sound and editing in feature films and the Best Short Film Award.


HUBERT SAUPER Director, cinematographer, producer, and actor. Best known for his brave socio-political and at the same time poetic films, shot mainly in Africa and Cuba. His work has received worldwide recognition for its expressiveness, content and aesthetics. Winner of dozens prestigious film festivals, including Venice Film Festival, Berlinale and Sundance. Oscar nominee (Darwin’s Nightmare, 2004), winner of Sundance documentary award 2020 for the film Epicentro.

Cinematographer and director of documentaries, known for the exquisite visual style of his work and the ability to deeply immerse himself in the realities of his characters, no matter what continent they live on. His films Siberian Lesson (1998), Argentinian Lesson (2011), Brothers (2015) were awarded at the Krakow, Locarno, Leipzig Film Festivals, Amsterdam IDFA and Cinéma du Réel in Paris. As a Director of Photography, Wojciech has shot over 40 fiction and documentary films. He is a three-times award winner of the most prestigious festival of cinematography, Camerimage. In 2011, his work in El premio by Paula Markovitch was awarded the Silver Bear at the Berlin Film Festival for Outstanding Artistic Achievement.

Founder of the Documentary Film Center (DFC) and online documentary streaming platform Sofya also created Mart foundation, which aims to support contemporary Russian art abroad. DFC is the first and only Russian cinema theatre for documentaries, a brand new cultural and educational venue and an independent buying and distribution company.



Documentary film director with over a decade of experience, appreciated for approaching his themes from the point of view of his protagonists. The films he directed have been both successful on the international festival circuit, as well as being broadcast on TV. Wagner’s most recent work, Songs of Repression premiered this March at CPH:DOX and earned the main Festival prize — DOX:AWARD.

Producer of independent documentary, short and fiction films and founder of the Vienna based production company RAUMZEITFILM. Her diploma film Nebel (2014), which she produced, received an honorable mention at the Berlinale and was screened in Locarno, at Visions du Réel and many other festivals. Her directing debut Space Dogs earned many prestigious awards, such as Golden Leopard, Youth Jury Award and a Special Mention at Locarno International Film Festival, Best Feature at FIDOCS, Vienna Film Award at Viennale, among others.

ANASTASIYA MIROSHNICHENKO Documentary filmmaker. Her first documentary Crossroads (2014) won international festivals and broadcast acclaim, had a world premiere at Warsaw IFF and was awarded there with two prizes: Special Mention Jury Award and the Audience Award. Anastasiya’s next documentary, Debut (2017) premiered at IDFA in Amsterdam, received a Special Mention at Krakow film festival and was nominated by Belarus for The Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film and Best Documentary Feature.


bottom of page